2008 is almost at an end

Since 2008 is about to end I thought it would be nice to write a post to recap some of the stuff I have been writing about this year.

January started with a new theme on this blog. Then I went on to brag about being 32% genius over at Project Euler. January also saw the first post from my (then new) T61 laptop.

February was a slow month with just 3 posts. The reason was probably the lack of motivation.

March was the month I started playing Guitar Hero 3: Legends of Rock. Later that month I was in Zürich for a two day Microsoft Live Services course. I also found out that my blog was not completely worthless after all!

April saw some huge posts about Zend Framework, like Custom validators for Zend_Form_Element and Translating Zend_Form error messages and more. I also wrote about how to use objects with Zend_View’s PartialLoop helper. I continued the Zend Framework blogging with the Quick and dirty custom Zend_Form_Decorator_Label post and ended the month with a post on how to use a SOCKS proxy to connect to MSN Messenger in Pidgin. April had some of the busiest days (traffic wise) on my blog because of the Zend Framework related posts.

May was a busy month with 21 posts. A popular post is the one about debugging Zend Framework in Zend Studio. On the 17th I arrived in New York and wrote some posts about my trip: day 1, day 2, day 3 and day 4. The next 5 days I spent in Chicago attending php|tek 2008. I also blogged about my days there: day 1, day 2, day 3, day 4 and day 5. In between I posted some pictures from New York on my flickr account and created a proposal for a Zend_Service_ReCaptcha component for the Zend Framework.

June started out with a rather rough weekend. I also worked from home using ssh tunnels. Mid-month I got a ticket to the Neil Young concert in Oslo Spektrum. Some days later I attended the Norwegian Developer Conference with Erlend from work. Zend_Service_ReCaptcha was accepted on the 19th and a couple of days later I presented the first Album Of The Week award to Television with Marquee Moon. The last days of June saw the first post in a 3 post series about PHP_CodeSniffer. I still haven’t written the last post in the series btw. I also managed to squeeze in a post about some basic usage of the Zend_Service_ReCaptcha component.

In July I got myself a new bicycle! I also wrote part 2 of the PHP_CodeSniffer series. Did I mention that I haven’t finished it yet? I also wrote a post about cropping and resizing a GIF with PHP’s imagick extension which is pretty popular around here. On the 18th I started the 100 push ups challenge which I had to abandon later on because of an injury in my right shoulder.

In August I wrote about the Neil Young concert and about the flood the destroyed my bedroom, bath and office. Other than that it was a slow month with some AOTW and 100 push ups related posts.

September was a rather busy month! Early in September I wrote a post about how to move Subversion repositories. Later on I went to San Francisco for a couple of days before ZendCon in Santa Clara. I wrote some posts about my stay in San Francisco: Day 1 and 2 (part 1) and part 2. I also wrote about my last day there. At ZendCon I did a series of posts: day 1, day 2, day 3, day 4, day 5. I also wrote a post with links to some of the slides presented at ZendCon.

In October I went on a climbing trip to Kalymnos and wrote a series of posts about my days there: day 1, day 2 and 3, day 3 and 4, day 5, day 6, day 7, day 8 and day 9. When I got home I finally managed to upload some pictures from my visit to Alcatraz while in San Francisco. October 2008 was also the last month in Stratos’ life. The last post of the month was Apache+SSL+Subversion+Trac HOWTO which is pretty popular.

In November I picked up Gears of War 2 and attended some concerts: Machine Head, Slipknot, Satyricon and Slayer. I also wrote a post about error handling in SimpleXML (PHP extension).

December has been mostly about music. I got the 1001 albums book and made a list of the AOTW awards in 2008.

And that pretty much wraps up 2008 at my blog.

Here are some numbers from 2008 (inspired by Mats):

Key stats:

  • Posts: 143
  • Comments: 157

Top 5 referers:

  • blog.ekini.net
  • zendframeworkinaction.com
  • acheashadow.wordpress.com
  • googlemapsapi.blogspot.com
  • google.com

Most popular posts:

Finally, I would like to wish you all a Happy New Year!

This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

