Kalymnos – Day 8

Howdy! Just got back from a crag called Kalydna. We went up there around 0930 together with Ingrid from Vancouver. She is 63 and does allot of hiking so it’s pretty hard to follow her up the steep slopes towards the crags here. She has been climbing for 7-8 years and is pretty darn good as well. She mostly topropes, but pulls herself up routes up to 7a I think. Really inspiring.

We started the day doing two easy 6a+’s, Extra and Late Evening Light, which were both pretty nice. After that we did a 6c+ called Theodora and then a long 6c called Uschana. The last route of the day was a 6b+ called Kaly-Nikhla.

The climbing at Kalydna was a bit different from the other stuff we have done here. The wall is mostly vertical and the holds are much smaller. I tend to like this type of climbing because my fingers are quite strong after doing allot of bouldering. I struggled a bit with the 6c+ though. My arm kept cramping up and hurt allot more today than yesterday which was very annoying. I guess I’ll have to take a rest day tomorrow. I don’t really want it to get worse than this. I have a scooter tomorrow though so I can take a ride around the island looking at some other places as well. I guess it will be ok.

When traveling down here I managed to leave my iPod on so I haven’t been able to listen to any music until today. Ran from Vancouver had an iPod cable with him, so my iPod was charging while I was out climbing. I have really missed listening to some of my music here. The bars tend to play only 80s and early 90s rock hits that gets old rather quickly.

I guess I’ll go for a shower now and then out to get something to eat.

This entry was posted in Climbing, Trips and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

