ZendCon/Santa Clara – Day 4

Today I only managed two talks. This was the last day of the conference so it was a bit shorter than the other days. I skipped the first session because of, well, I just didn’t manage to get up early enough. Yesterday was a bit too much for me I guess.

The first talk I saw today was What’s new in PHP 5.3 by Andi Gutmans, Stanislav Malyshev, Marcus Boerger and Elizabeth M Smith (slides available here). There is allot of new stuff coming in 5.3. Some worth mentioning are namespaces, late static binding, __callStatic magic function, goto and lots more. Check out the slides for more info.

The other talk I attended today was I need more servers! what do I do? (Scaling a php application) by Maurice Kherlakian which was about scaling (duh!). Some of the stuff he talked about was load balancing and database infrastructure.

After this talk I headed back up to my room to relax a little. After a while Naveed and myself went over to Taco Bell (thanks for the great tip Stein!) to eat a taco. After this we got a cab and headed down to Santana Row to see if we could find some shops. I guess the shops in that street is a bit to up scale for me. We headed over to a Macy’s nearby but we didn’t get too much. I got myself a new cap, and that was it. After this we just walked around for a bit. We visited a Best Buy shop to pick up a cable for my camera before going back to the hotel.

When we got back we headed over to a nearby place called Birk’s Restaurant which was pretty decent. After the food we went back to the hotel, and I started writing this post. Tomorrow I will try to get back up to Berkeley to find the Adidas Originals store to get some more shoes! That’s it for today.

This entry was posted in PHP, Technology, Trips and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ZendCon/Santa Clara – Day 4

  1. Hilde says:

    If you find some shit-hot shoes, and they only have them in size 6 (US), bring’em back to me! I always envy your shoes when you get back from your US trips..

Leave a Reply

