San Francisco – Day 1 and 2

Yesterday I arrived in San Francisco after spending about 14 hours on a plane (8 to Newark and 6 from Newark to SF). Both Naveed and myself was stopped in customs at Newark but I got out first and went to the plane to wait for him. Unfortunately he had to take the next plane because customs took too long so I arrived in SF some hours before him. I got in a cab at once and drove to the hostel where we are staying to get a quick shower and something to eat. The hostel is very cheap (and nice) and absolutely worth staying at. The people who work here gave me a small map and pointed out a couple of good pubs and cafes close by.

First I just walked around for a bit looking for a quiet bar that served food but ended up eating a hamburger at Burger King and then a couple of beers are a bar called The Owl Tree close to the hostel. I was pretty tired after the trip so I pretty much wanted to go to sleep as soon as possible. I went back to the hostel shorty after Naveed arrived to see what plans he had for today and then go to sleep.

Today we got up around 0800, took a shower and walked down to Lori’s Diner for some breakfast and a cup of coffee. When we had finished Naveed went back to the hostel to meet up with a friend of his that lived here and I went for another cup of coffee and some planning at a nearby Starbucks.

After some googling I just hopped on the first cable car that went by and headed up to the Fisherman’s Wharf to have a look and just walked around the bay area for a while looking at the piers. Over at Pier 33 I purchased a ticket for a trip out to Alcatraz, where people like Al Capone and Machine Gun Kelly have done time, for tomorrow. I’m really looking forward to that! Hopefully the weather will be ok so I can take loads of pictures.

After walking around the Piers I went back downtown for some more coffee and a Strawberry and Cream coffee cake at Starbucks. Then I headed back to the hostel where I am now writing this post. I will head back out shortly for some more walking and to take some more pictures. More to come later!

This entry was posted in Trips and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to San Francisco – Day 1 and 2

  1. What did you think about Fisherman’s Wharf? I was there earlier this year, and must say I really didn’t like it. Too hectic for my taste.

    The rest of SF, though, was charming and very enjoyable.

  2. Pingback: San Francisco - Day 1 and 2 cont. « Christer’s blog o’ fun

  3. christer says:

    @oter: I found it a bit too hectic myself. I guess it would maybe be better during the weekdays and not the weekend…

    I agree with SF beeing very enjoyable! I’m pretty sure I’ll go back here sometime (and stay more than 2 days).

Leave a Reply

