Xdebug and Zend Debugger sitting in a tree, D-E-B-U-G-G-I-N-G

Since I haven’t moved from Zend Studio to Zend Studio for Eclipse yet I need the Zend Debugger for debugging from inside Zend Studio. Whenever I want to do some unit testing and have code coverage reports I need to use Xdebug. These are both Zend extensions and don’t like each other that much… Because of this I have to swap between them once in a while which is a hassle. Now I might not have to do that anymore!

Stefan Esser has made a stealth patch for Xdebug that lets you load both extensions at once. The patch is available over at his blog and is made against the 2.0.3 version of Xdebug.

When applied, you will have to load the Xdebug extension as a regular extension (extension=xdebug.so) and not as a zend_extension.

This entry was posted in PHP, Technology and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Xdebug and Zend Debugger sitting in a tree, D-E-B-U-G-G-I-N-G

  1. Elliot Cohen says:

    Christer,

    Sounds like you have worked with Eclipse and Zend Debugger/Xdebug a bit.

    I am trying to get up and running with Xdebug but i am running into a problem.

    I keep getting an error from Zend_Session that Session Start must be called before anything is output to the screen and it is complaining that some headers have already been sent.

    Have you ever heard of anything like this?

    Thanks,

    Elliot

Leave a Reply

