AOTW 26, 2008: Television – Marquee Moon

Apart from programming and climbing I really enjoy listening to music. From this day on I will try to present to you an (A)lbum (O)f (T)he (W)eek, every week. The albums will be picked from my collection.

Since I spend lots of hours every week listening to all sorts of stuff I thought I could share some of it with you. Well … not share as in letting you download the music from my blog … but share the name of an album (and artist) that I think is worthy of the ATOW award so you can pick it up from your favorite music store! I won’t write huge reviews but I’ll do something as simple as presenting my own personal favourites of the songs on the album. If you for some reason follow my advice and buy the album I’m presenting (or perhaps you already have it in your collection?), feel free to comment on what you think about it and if you (dis)agree with my own personal favorites, let me have it!

The first AOTW award goes the brilliant Marquee Moon album, by Television. Some regard them as one of the founders of punk rock. I regard them as makers of music full of win!

My three favorite tracks on the album are:

  • Friction
  • See no evil
  • Torn Curtain

Thats it really… :) If you haven’t gotten around to ordering the album yet, you have failed miserably! Happy listening!

Edit:
Dave (who added a comment here) has written an article about why he likes this album so much. Read the article at his blog.

This entry was posted in AOTW, Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to AOTW 26, 2008: Television – Marquee Moon

  1. I’ve failed miserably :-)

    (I don’t know if I ever *won’t* fail: The last albums I ordered was Stevie Wonder’s album “Songs in the key of life” and Marvin Gaye’s “What’s going on”)

  2. christer says:

    @oter: You’ll get a new chance next week! :)

  3. Dave says:

    Great album, but what about the title track? ‘Friction’ has a killer riff, but the title track is something else. We wrote a short article about it at http://thishereboogie.com/marquee-moon-television-1977/.

  4. christer says:

    @Dave: Great article. I’ll add to the post above. Anyways … I agree that the title track is something else, but Friction was the first track I heard from this album so that’s probably why I like it so much. :)

  5. Pingback: AOTW 27, 2008: Bert Jansch - The Black Swan « Christer’s blog o’ fun

  6. Pingback: AOTW 28, 2008: Machine Head - Burn My Eyes « Christer’s blog o’ fun

  7. Pingback: Album Of The Week 2008 « Christer’s blog o’ fun

Leave a Reply

