Norman AV is confusing

I sent over an .eps (Adobe Illustrator) file to a guy at work yesterday, and when he opened it Norman Antivirus started yelling about a trojan and threw loads of .dll files in quarantine (only dll’s for some of his installed Adobe programs). Since I got the file from someone else it thought that Norman could be right and I let the files live in quarantine, removed Adobe CS3 and did a fresh install.

I told the creator of the eps file about this and she did some virus scanning on her computer but did not find anything (she uses AVG). I thought that was weird so when I got to work this morning I took some of the files out of the quarantine and uploaded some of them to Norman’s Sandbox service. And guess what, they all came out clean. What gives?!

This entry was posted in Work related. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

