Hello World!

Well, it was not that hard to make a simple hello world script. I just started a text editor and entered the following code:

# hello world script
from appuifw import *
note(u"Hello World!", "info")

I then saved the file as hello.py in the Python directory for the Emulator. On my laptop, the path to that directory is C:\Symbian\8.0a\S60_2nd_FP2\epoc32\release
\wins\udeb\z\system\APPS\python\. After I saved it there, I started the Emulator, started the python environment, and when I looked at the list of scripts, hello.py was there. When I started it, an Infobox with the text “Hello World!” appeared. The I right clicked the hello.py file, chose Sent To – Bluetooth – phonename, and installed it on the phone. The script worked like a charm there as well. :)

Next I will try and make a script that will connect to the internet and do some more neat stuff.

This entry was posted in Location Aware Systems. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

